Day 6 Organized: Cooking Utensil Drawers


Day 6 Organized: Cooking Utensil Drawers
Make those drawers work for you, not against you.

I have 2 large drawers next to the stove that everything was just piled in. Nothing had a place to be in and it was becoming a catch-all.

20121019-124613.jpg
Look at that mess. The first order of business is always to clear it out. You can’t organize it if you don’t de-clutter.

I used a plastic bucket and put everything on top of the counter. MOST of these things aren’t garbage, they are useful, but I have too much so I put a brown bag on the counter to put things in that I want to donate.

I lined the drawers ($1 at the $1 store) and began sorting through the mass collection. Phone books, why are those even in these drawers? Those can be tossed since I don’t use phone books.

20121019-125204.jpg

<a
I sorted through the stuff and anything that I had more than one of, I put in the bag. I do not need 2 lime squeezers, or two cheese graters that are the same size. I sorted all "extras" out and put them in the bag. Sometimes, I need extras of items, like large spoons, ladles, etc. so I plan to keep those.

20121019-125920.jpg
I want to organize these to make things run smooth when cooking, so I chose to put cooking utensils most often used for stove-top cooking in the drawer closest to the stove. I used the front area to store spatulas, whisks, spoons, etc. that are the most frequently used. I arranged them to be instantly accessible. I used the back area of the drawer for spatulas and wooden spoons, which I use often.

20121019-130532.jpg
The second drawer will hold items used, but less frequently. Some of these are small in size and tend to roll around in drawers adding to the havoc. I put two small baskets which I purchased for $1 each at the $1 store, in the drawer for these. I used the back basket for the least frequently used things like mini-graters, meat tenderizers, and pie crust cutters. The basket closer to the front holds more often used items like orange peelers and corn holders. I found a small oddball ramekin to hold those tiny items in the basket.

20121019-131303.jpg
The remaining areas of the second drawer were used for things like pizza servers & cutters, salad utensils, cheese graters and slicers, and other less frequently used utensils.

20121019-132522.jpg
You may use different things more often and you should arrange yours according to your cooking style and frequency of use.

This project didn’t take long and cost about $3. Well under the $15 challenge budget.

20121019-132745.jpg

Leave a Reply

